You say, I say

PhotoGrid_1359755258351

A Little Audrey Every Day

Let’s just start this post by agreeing that Audrey Hepburn was the cutest, sweetest, most adorable celebrity ever and totally worth of being put on a pedestal. I mean, seriously. She was charming, could dance, and had the cutest ponytail the world has ever seen. Just to be clear, I’m talking about this:

7If you aren’t completely convinced, here, from the amazing I Love Your Crazy blog, is a whole post  dedicated to adorable ponytails and I challenge you to prove me wrong!

Now that I have convinced you…

I am not much of a quotes person. I think I have pinned, seriously, 1 or 2 quotes off of Pinterest — ever.  And I am certainly not the type to want to hang quotes on my wall, frame them, or stencil them anywhere. The closest I come is playing Words with Friends. Which is why I was a little embarrassed to admit that I loved this idea:

532372018_IdAWSwoD_c

The image was actually an unfortunate orphan child of Pinterest, meaning that someone pinned the just a photo in the post and NOT the post. (So here is the link that I DO have, if you know where this came from, please let me know!) I have no idea where it came from.

I didn’t want to copy it verbatim, so when I saw this quote from Audrey Hepburn, I knew I had a winner.

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

I’m tellin’ you y’all. This project has been a long time coming.

What you need:

IMG_20121229_002346

  • Framed print (preferably a colorful one). I found mine at the Habitat ReStore. It was absolutely perfect. I had my eyes peeled for weeks to find the perfect print.
  • Letter stickers (found mine in the scrapbooking section of Joann’s, and since they were on sale, bought two types)
  • Spray paint (I have two – one for the frame and one for the print)
  • A screwdriver to pry the frame open – if you are using a framed print.

I simply took the print out of the frame, lightly drew lines to place the letters on, and went to work:

IMG_20121229_003645

IMG_20121229_005534

IMG_20121229_010824

 

 

I actually really liked it this way and started to have a crisis about whether I wanted to actually paint it or not.

But I did.

IMG_20121229_120536

And was immediately glad I took the risk. Then I started liking it this way and wondering…

But forward I marched.

Sprayed the frame, washed the glass, put the whole thing back together and….

YESSSS!

IMAG2156-1-1

It reminds me to live graciously and positively. Sometimes I definitely have to make a conscious effort to let go and just enjoy life.

What do you think? Would you have painted over that beautiful print? Do you love Audrey Hepburn, too?

Leave a Reply

